The Beginning

In 1975 a small group of leading lights in the Barossa wine community created the Wine Fraternity, Barons of Barossa. They modelled their group on established wine societies in Europe, adopting the recognisable red and gold ceremonial gowns and the wearing of the Tastevin. 

Founding members included the great wine names of that era: Seppelt, Hill Smith, Lehmann, Gramp, Kolarovich, Hoffmann and Sir Condor Laucke.

Membership of the Barons of Barossa is by invitation and is offered to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the Barossa. 

The Barons Now

Now a dynamic association of more than 90 men and women, its focus remains unchanged since its foundation -   To promote and foster the Barossa, its wine, viticulture and gastronomy, to help maintain the heritage, lifestyle and traditions of this great region. 

The group has run an impressive philanthropy program in the region since its inception, providing critical funding for community groups and educational scholarships. This extended to the publication of the landmark book Vineyards of the Empire and more recently the production of a video series, Preserving Barossa Food Culture. 

The Barossa Cellar 

In 2011, the Barons turned their focus to the future, with the ambitious aim of creating a repository of the great wines of the Barossa, cellaring them to their peak (at least 10 years), to show the aging potention of our wines and demonstrate the unity of the Barossa Wine Community. 

Nine years later, after the purchase of a beautiful site overlooking the Barossa Valley and an extensive fundraising drive, those wines were carefully transported to their striking new home and the doors were opened in March 2020. This significant collection of Barossa and Eden Valley wines continues to grow, with the region's winemakers donating their finest wines each vintage.

Read more about The Barossa Cellar.


 Please raise a glass with us in our traditional toast: Glory to Barossa!